Posted by: drew | June 27, 2006

Minor League Manager Throws Epic Tantrum

This video is priceless. The manager of the Asheville Tourists lost his mind after Koby Clements was called safe on a steal of second base.

Article here.

Someone on Fark pointed to a great anecdote by a veteran ump:

This reminds me of a funny little thing I saw over at MLB.com.

As an umpire, what’s the funniest thing anyone has ever said to you during an argument?

McClelland: Oh boy. A long time ago at a game in Triple-A, Jack McKeon was the manager in Omaha. He came out and said “I know you got that call right, but I have a big, full house here and my team isn’t playing very well. Can we just stand out here and argue a little bit? I am just going to stand here and bob my head and raise my hands a little bit, but I am not mad at you. I just want to put on a little bit of a show. When I’m done you run me and I’ll go to the dugout.”

I said, “That’s fine, whatever you need to do, go ahead and do it.” So I told him I had a good dinner last night at [restaurant] and asked if he’s ever been there. He said no, and started kicking the dirt and raising his hands and said “but maybe I should try it out sometime! Well, I think this was enough, why don’t you run me now.” So I did and he walked away.

Leave a Reply

Categories

