Posted by: drew | March 15, 2006

I Want One!

Cowon A2 Media Player

The COWON A2 Media Player A coworker turned me on to this device. Here is the wonderful feature list:

  • 20/30 GB Harddrive
  • Video Formats: AVI, WMV, ASF
  • Video Codecs built-in: DivX 3.11, XviD, WMV9
  • Audio Codecs: WMA, MP3, AC3 5.1 Downmix
  • Audio Formats: MP3, OGG, WMA, FLAC, WAV with 5 bands EQ, BBE, Mach3Bass, MP Enhance, and 3D Surround
  • Image Formats: JPEG, PNG, BMP
  • Text Viewer
  • FM Tuner: 76 ~ 108MHz with preset
  • TV Recording via line in: ASF (MPEG4 video and MP3) : Up to 640X480, 30fps
  • Audio Recording via line-in: MP3 : Up to 44.1KHz, 192Kbps
  • TV out: NTSC/PAL
  • LCD: 4″ 480×272, 0.183mm pitch, TFT LCD (16:9 Wide)
  • PC Interface: USB 2.0 (Max 480Mbps)
  • Size: 5.24 X 3.07 X 0.87 inches (133 X 78 X 22 mm)
  • Weight: 10.5oz (298g)
  • Built-in Stereo Speaker
  • Built-in Mono Microphone
  • Battery time: Audio: 18 hours, video: 10 hours

After I clean up the drool on my desk, I compare this to my Sony PSP and my Creative MP3 player.

The PSP could be a similar type of “play it all” device save for one problem: Reliance on MemoryStick media cards. The problem with these is that they only go up to about 2GB right now and are very expensive. I got a 1GB card for around $110 I think.

This allows for not a lot of music, and about 1.5 hours of video. It can play music, video, and of course, video games. I’d like to use it as my total media solution, but the storage constraints will prevent that from ever really coming true. Plus, it’s bigger than the COWON A2.
I use my old Creative Zen NX Nomad 20 gigger for music.

So, someday when I can blow $380 bucks, I’ll pick one of these beauties up. The storage space and wide variety of media formats supported, as well as an FM tuner make this nearly the perfect media device. The only way it could be better is if it also picked up XM Radio signals.

Leave a Reply

Categories

